Fall Meeting Highlights and Photos

Share |

Dr. Carol Aschenbrener, Executive Vice President of the Association of American Medical Colleges, presented on the work underway by AACN and its partners through the Interprofessional Education Collaborative.


Dr. Carol Kenner from Northeastern University enjoys a featured presentation.


AACN’s CEO Polly Bednash (left) and President Kathleen Potempa (middle right) pose with Honorary Associate Membership awardee Dr. Patrick DeLeon (middle left) and HRSA Administrator Mary Wakefield.


Government Affairs Committee Chair Teri Murray presents the 2011 AACN Policy Luminary Award to Dr. Ellen Marie Wheland, the Senior Advisor for the Innovation Center at Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.


Dr. Debra Barksdale from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill discusses the work of the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) and her role as the only nurse on the PCORI Board of Governors


Dr. Robin Newhouse from the University of Maryland outlines the charge of the PCORI Methodology Committee and her work to advance the science and methodologies of comparative clinical effectiveness research.


Cathy Rick (left), the chief nursing officer with the Department of Veteran Affairs, mingles with Jeannine Muldoon, nursing dean from Molloy College at the Sunday night reception.


Representatives  from AACN’s partnering organizations gather in the exhibit hall. Pictured from left to right are Nick Fitzpatrick, AfterCollege; Joseph Finley,; Brenda Jones, Educational Benchmarking, Inc.; Sha Walker, Hurst Reviews; and Amanda Sills, Hurst Reviews.


Donald Jonas, founder of the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence, was honored with the 2011 Partners in Excellence Award.  Mr. Jonas is pictured with AACN CEO Polly Bednash (left) and AACN President Kathleen Potempa.


 AACN President Kate Potempa recognizes Dr. Jean Bartels, former AACN President from Georgia Southern University, with Honorary Associate Membership in AACN.


Nursing deans enjoy the Sunday night reception, always a highlight of the Fall Meeting.


AACN President presents the 2011 Innovations in Professional Nurse Education Awards.  This year’s recipients, by school type, were presented to:


Wilkes University (Small Schools)

University of Wisconsin-Madison (Academic Health Centers - AHC)

Texas Christian University (Private School without an AHC)

University of Detroit Mercy (Private School without an AHC)

University of Texas at Austin (Public  School without an AHC)


The newly launched BSN Awards for Innovative Clinical Rotation in a Nursing Home were presented by AACN President Kathleen Potempa to two schools of nursing:

University of Minnesota

Edgewood College and the University of Wisconsin-Madison