Conferences

CNL Summit Abstracts

Share |

CNL Summit
JW Marriott New Orleans

Abstract Presentation Schedule - By Session

Friday, January 18, 2013

3:00 p.m.

Rex (8th Floor)
Sitters No More!  Transformation From Sitters to Therapeutic Companions
Nancy Haller, MN, RN, CNL; Kimberly Kirkpatrick, MS, RN, CNL; Michelle Rhoney, MS, RN, CNL
Portland VA Medical Center
Portland, OR
Email: Nancy.Haller2@va.gov

Frontenac (3rd Floor)
Growing Our Own - Developing a Successful Professional, Personal and Academic Mentoring Program for Clinical Nurse Leader Candidates
Virginia Bowman, MSN, RN, CNS, CNL
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
Email: vbowman@mdanderson.org

Orleans (3rd Floor)

Transitioning the CNL Student into the CNL Role
Mary Bishop DNP, RN, NEA BC, FACHE
University of West Georgia
Carollton, GA
Email: Mbishop@westga.edu

Conde (3rd Floor)
Staff Experiential Day: Preparing for a New Care Delivery Model Incorporating the CNL Role
Deborah Cline, MSN, RN, CNL®, OCN®; Virginia Bowman, MSN, RN, CNS-Onc, AOCNS, CORLN, CNL®; Beverly A. Nelson Ph.D., RN, NEA-BC; Debra Adornetto-Garcia, MSN, RN, AOCN, NEA-BC, CNL®; Barbara L. Summers, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
Email: dbcline@mdanderson.org

Rosalie (3rd Floor)
An Intervention to Reduce Heart Failure Readmissions from Skilled Nursing Facilities: A Pilot Study
Jan Broniec MS RN
St. Luke's University Health Network/SLUHN
Bethlehem, PA
Email: janice.broniec@sluhn.org

Endymion (8th Floor)
Getting it All In: Incorporating the Role of the Clinical Nurse Leader on a Multi-Role General Medicine Unit
Sherichia M. Dansby, MPH, BSN, RN, CNL
University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital
Birmingham, AL
Email: smhardy@uabmc.edu

St. Claude (3rd Floor)

Project Red: Reducing CHF Readmissions
Claire Gangware, MSN, RN, CNL
Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
Chicago, IL
Email: claire.gangware2@va.gov

Muses (8th Floor)

Clinical Nurse Leader Outcomes One Year After Role Implementation
Heather Huffman MSN, RN, CNL & Abby Hammack MSN, RN-BC, CNL
Fairfield Medical Center
Lancaster, OH
Email: heatherh@fmchealth.org

Orpheus (8th Floor)
Clinical Nurse Leaders at the forefront guiding healthy behaviors in prenatal care and pediatrics with a focus on childhood obesity utilizing the national initiative "Let's Move" with a foundation in Pender's Health Promotion Model   
Chelsea Condon BBA (CNL student), Sarah Dillon BS (CNL student), Kelly A. Phillips PhD, RN, CNS, CNL, Lauren Snyder BA (CNL student), Tandy Szabo BA (CNL student), Kimberly Vriezelaar BEd (CNL student)
The University of Toledo College of Nursing
Toledo, OH
Email:    kelly.phillips5@utoledo.edu

Babylon (8th Floor)

Frontline Engagement as an improvement science research initiative and the CNL: Addressing operational failures on clinical microsystems
Linda Roussel, DSN, RN, NEA-BC, CNL
University of South Alabama College of Nursing
Mobile, AL
Email: lroussel@usouthal.edu

 

3:30 p.m.

Rex (8th Floor)
“The Daily News” – Utilizing the Electronic Health Record to Identify High Risk Patients
Kimberly Kirkpatrick, MS, RN, CNL; D’Arcy Martin, Data Analyst; Alice Avolio, MS, RN, NE-BC; Jamie Connelly, MS, RN, CNL, CMSRN; Michelle Rhoney, MS, RN, CNL;
Portland VA Medical Center
Portland, OR
Email: kimberly.kirkpatrick@va.gov

Frontenac (3rd Floor)
Reducing Fall Rates Using an Interdisciplinary Team Approach
Bridget Graham MSN, RN-BC, CNL & Dawn Borreson MSN, RN-BC, CNL
Saint Mary's Health Care
Grand Rapids, MI
Email: grahambc@trinity-health.org

Orleans (3rd Floor)

Tailored strategies to develop unique clinical immersion experiences
Beth-Anne M. Christopher MS, RN, CNL
Rush University, College of Nursing
Chicago, IL
Email: Beth-Anne_Christopher@rush.edu

Conde (3rd Floor)
Clinical Nurse Leader Competencies:  Perceived Learning Outcomes of an Immersion Experience
Frank D. Hicks, PhD, RN; Rosemarie Suhayda, PhD, ANP-BC; Beth-Anne Christopher, MS, RN, CNL
Rush University College of Nursing
Chicago, IL
Email: frank_d_hicks@rush.edu

Rosalie (3rd Floor)
Implementing an Evidence-Based Program to Promote Mobility in the Hospitalized Vascular Surgery Patient
Emily Simmons, MSN, RN-BC, CNL
University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Hospital
Birmingham, AL
Email: esimmons@uabmc.edu

Endymion (8th Floor)

Development of an Instrument to Measure Readiness to Implement the CNL Role
Penny Moore Ph.D., RN, CNL and Charles Walker Ph.D., MSN, BSN, BS
Texas Christian University
Fort Worth, Texas
Email: penny.moore@tcu.edu

St. Claude (3rd Floor)
VA Clinical Nurse Leader: Implements Interventions to Improve Veteran Knowledge, Safety, Satisfaction and Team Communication
Bonnie Haupt, MSN, RN, CNL-BC
VA Connecticut Healthcare System
West Haven, CT
Email: Bonnie.Haupt@VA.GOV

Muses (8th Floor)
Clinical Nurse Leaders Simplifying Complex Care:  Finding the Pattern in Chaos
Lauren Hardin MSN, RN, CNL & Rebecca Valko MSN, RN, CNL
Saint Mary's Health Care
Grand Rapids, MI
Email: valkor@trinity-health.org

Orpheus (8th Floor)
Saving Lives: Clinical Nurse Leader's Impact on Improving Adult Inpatient Immunization Rates
Laurie Sayer MSN RN CNL and Kristin S Mast MSN RN CNL CNRN
Saint Mary's Health Care
Grand Rapids, MI
Email: sayerl@trinity-health.org

Babylon (8th Floor)

The Role of the Clinical Nurse Leader in Transforming the Culture of an Inpatient Gero-Psychiatric unit.
Melanie Tallakson, MSN, MPH, RN CNL; Josephine Villanueva, BSN, MA, RN-BC, NE-BC; Georgina Delos Reyes, BSN, MSN, RN
Veteran Affairs Long Beach Healthcare System
Long Beach, CA
Email: melanie.tallakson@va.gov

 

4:00 p.m.

Rex (8th Floor)
Fall Reduction: An Evidenced Based Bundle Approach
Michelle Rhoney, MS, RN, CNL; Kimberly Kirkpatrick, MS, RN, CNL; Stephen Weinberg, MS, RN, CNS
Portland VA Medical Center
Portland, OR
Email: michelle.rhoney@va.gov

Frontenac (3rd Floor)
The Impact of the Clinical Nurse Leader on Care Coordination
Mary Stachowiak MSN, RN, CNL, Lindsay Keating MSN (c), RN
St Barnabas Medical Center
Livingston, NJ
Email: msatchowiak@barnabashealth.org

Orleans (3rd Floor)
Interprofessional Education: A CNL - Engineering Partnership
Sandra W. Kuntz, PhD, PHCNS-BC & Charlene A. Winters, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC
Montana State University College of Nursing
Missoula, MT
Email: skuntz@montana.edu

Conde (3rd Floor)
Developing Professional Entry faculty to Teach Model C Clinical Nurse Leaders Students
Leslie McKeon, PhD, CNL1, Sherry Webb, DNSc, CNL1, Danijela Pavilic, MSN CNL2, Marissa Elliot-Vizcarrondo, MSN, CNL3
Institution: 1University of Tennessee Health Science Center; 2University of San Franscico; 3VA Palo Alto Health Care System
City/State: 1Memphis, TN;San Fransciso, CA; Palo Alto, CA
Email: lmckeon@uthsc.edu

Rosalie (3rd Floor)
A Palliative Care Program for Chronic Heart Failure: The Team Approach
Helen Smith MS RN
St. Luke's University Health Network
Bethlehem, PA
Email: helene.smith@sluhn.org

Endymion (8th Floor)
Utilization of the Clinical Nurse Leader Skill Set at the Macrosystem Level
Kristen Noles, MSN, RN, CNL
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital
Birmingham, AL
Email: knoles@uabmc.edu

St. Claude (3rd Floor)
Clinical Nurse Leader . . . A Marathon . . . Not a Sprint
Elizabeth A. Murphy, BScN, MSBA, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE
Trinity Health - Saint Mary's Health Care
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Email: Murphyea@trinity-health.org

Muses (8th Floor)
Individualized Care Planning
Colleen Villamin BSN, RN, OCN, Lourine Davis BSN, RN, OCN, Roxanne Blackburn BSN, RN, OCN, Buenagracia de la Cruz BSN, MBA, RN, OCN, Nancy Tomczak BSN, RN, OCN
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX 
Email: cvillamin@mdanderson.org 

Orpheus (8th Floor)
Rapid Response
Sheri Salas, BSN, RN
University of South Alabama Medical Center
Mobile, AL
Email: ssalas@usouthal.edu

Babylon (8th Floor)
Meeting the Educational Needs for Patients with Leukemia
Jennifer VanDerKamp, MSN, RN, CNL
Queens University of Charlotte
Charlotte, NC
Email: jennifer.vanderkamp@carolinashealthcare.org

  

4:30 p.m.

Rex (8th Floor)
Improving Care Transitions for High Risk Patients
Doris Cahueque, MS, RN, CNL
Mease Countryside Hospital
Safety Harbor, Florida
Email: doris.cahueque@baycare.org

Frontenac (3rd Floor)
Interventions to Improve Patient Perceptions of Nurse Communication
Danell Stengem, MSN, RN-BC, CNL
Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth
Fort Worth, Texas 
Email: Danellstengem@texashealth.org

Orleans (3rd Floor)
Facilitation of the CNL Role Through Successful Collaboration Between Practice Partners; the University and Acute Care Setting
Pamela Abraham, MSN, RN, CNL, Virginia Clerkin, DHED, MSN, RN, CTN-A, CNL, Linda D'Antonio, MSN, RN, CCRN, CNL, Catherine Edmonds, MSN, RN, CNL, Jennifer Kareivis, MSN, RN, CNL and Marianne Sweeney, MSN, RN, CNL
Hunterdon Medical Center & Seton Hall University
Flemington, NJ & South Orange, NJ
Email: kareivis.jennifer@hunterdonhealthcare.org

Conde (3rd Floor)
No session

Rosalie (3rd Floor)
Striving for Patient Centered Education: A Nursing Teams Journey to Implement Teach-Back in an Urban Acute Care Hospital
Myra L Couch, MSN, RN-BC, CNL, Mary Rudy, MN, RN, NEA-BC, Ellesha McCray, MBA, MSN, RN, NE-BC, Darlene Dietrich, MBA, MSN, RN, Roseanne Zawinski, MSN, RN-BC, Kelly White, MSN, RN-BC
Veterans Administration Pittsburgh Healthcare System
Pittsburgh, PA
Email: myra.couch@va.gov

Endymion (8th Floor)
Gap Analysis as Strategy to Inform Consultative Support for Implementation of the CNL Role in a National Health Care Delivery System
Alice E. Avolio, MS, RN; Ashley E. Jones, HSS; & Marjory D. Williams, PhD, RN
VHA Office of Nursing Services
Temple, TX
Email: marjory.williams@va.gov

St. Claude (3rd Floor)
A Self-Efficacy Scale for Clinical Nurse Leaders ®: (CNLs® ): Results of a Pilot Study     
Mattia J. Gilmartin PhD, RN & Kathleen Nokes PhD, RN, FAAN
New York University and Hunter College, City University of New York
New York, NY
Email: mjg14@nyu.edu

Muses (8th Floor)
Using Discharge Tickets to Facilitate Flow of Acute Care Patients to the Community Living Center (CLC).
Susan Ottenfeld, MSN, RN, CNL
Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
Chicago, IL
Email: susan.ottenfeld@va.gov

Orpheus (8th Floor)
No session.

Babylon (8th Floor)
Advancing Palliative Care through a CNL Developed Screening Tool
Kristine M. Wilson, MSN, RN, CNL
Cincinnati VAMC
Cincinnati, OH
Email: Kristine.Wilson@va.gov