Leading Initiatives

APRN Consensus Process

Share |

In July 2008, the AACN Board of Directors endorsed the Consensus Model for APRN Regulation: Licensure, Accreditation, Certification and Education. AACN and the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) facilitated the consensus-building process used to develop this model. This landmark document defines Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) practice, describes the APRN regulatory model, identifies the titles to be used, defines specialty, describes the emergence of new roles and population foci, and presents strategies for implementation. This content is discussed in the context of the four APRN roles: certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA), certified nurse-midwife (CNM), clinical nurse specialist (CNS), and certified nurse practitioner (CNP). The culmination of a four-year effort, this model for APRN regulation is the product of collaborative work conducted by the Advanced Practice Nursing Consensus Work Group and the NCSBN APRN Committee. AACN member institutions with APRN programs are encouraged to download this document and share it with faculty and other stakeholders.

LACE Frequently Asked Questions

APRN LACE Website and Network

Letters regarding changes to certification exams related to implementation of the Consensus Model for APRN Regulation:

Past Presentations