Media Relations

Dr. Jeanette Lancaster from the University of Virginia Named President of AACN

Share |

Press Release
For Immediate Release

Dr. Jeanette Lancaster from the University of Virginia Named President
of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing
Dr. Lancaster Presents Testimony before the House Appropriations Committee Today on
Behalf of the Tri-Council for Nursing

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 29, 2006 - Jeanette Lancaster, PhD, RN, FAAN, the Sadie Heath Cabaniss Professor and Dean at the University of Virginia School of Nursing, was elected to serve a two-year term as President of AACN. Dr. Lancaster assumed the presidency at AACN's Spring Annual Meeting held in Washington, D.C. earlier this month.

"At this pivotal time in the history of nursing education, I am honored to serve AACN as President and will work collaboratively to support the mission of this fine organization," said Dr. Lancaster. As AACN's President, I will work to build consensus on future directions for nursing education, pursue legislative support for nursing workforce development, raise public awareness about the importance of nurses in health care delivery, and advance the goals of professional nursing education, research and practice."

Dr. Jeanette Lancaster has served on the AACN Board in many capacities over the last 12 years in the roles of President-Elect, task force chair, committee chair and columnist for the Journal of Professional Nursing. She has served AACN as the Chair of the Task Force on Leadership Transition and member of the Program, Bylaws, and Nominating Committees. Her distinguished career as a nurse educator in baccalaureate and higher degree programs includes the appointment as dean at the University of Virginia since 1989; dean at Wright State University (OH) from 1984-1989; and faculty roles at both the University of Alabama in Birmingham and Texas Christian University.

Dr. Lancaster, who holds the first endowed nursing professorship in the United States, was herself honored in 1999 with the first endowed professorship named for a female Dean at the University of Virginia: the Jeanette Lancaster Alumni Professorship in Nursing. She has been honored as a distinguished alumna at the University of Tennessee College of Nursing and the Francis Payne Bolton School of Nursing at Case Western Reserve University and was named honorary alumna at the UVA School of Nursing. In 2004, the New York University Division of Nursing presented her with the Maes-Macinnes Award in recognition of her contributions to and impact on the nursing profession. In 2005, the Beta Kappa Chapter of Sigma ThetaTau International Honor Society of Nursing awarded her the Distinguished Nurse Award.

In collaboration with various colleagues, she has published over 50 articles in a variety of professional journals and given more than 200 speeches and workshops throughout the United States and in several foreign countries. She edits the interdisciplinary journal Family and Community Health and has edited or co-edited eight textbooks.

Dr. Lancaster received her PhD in Public Health from the University of Oklahoma, her MS in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing from Case Western Reserve University, and her BSN from the University of Tennessee, Memphis. Her UVA tenure has been distinguished by her innovative efforts to improve gender imbalance at the University to give women a more equal role in decision-making, by new alliances forged within the UVA Health System, and by leading the School of Nursing to greater national prominence.

Other members elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the AACN Board of Directors include C. Fay Raines, PhD, RN, nursing dean at The University of Alabama in Hunstville, who was elected to serve as President-Elect, and Lea Acord, PhD, RN, from Marquette University who was elected to serve as Secretary. Also joining the Board as Members-At-Large are Martha Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN, from Johns Hopkins University; Linda Niedringhaus, Elmhurst College (IL), and Melanie Dreher, PhD, RN, FAAN from the University of Iowa.

Dr. Lancaster Presents Testimony Before the LHHS Appropriations Subcommittee

In one of her first official duties as AACN President, Dr. Jeanette Lancaster presented testimony today before the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies (LHHS) on behalf of the Tri-Council for Nursing. The Tri-Council, a coalition of four nursing organizations including AACN, the American Nurses Association, the American Organization of Nurse Executives and the National League for Nursing, is concerned that current funding levels for Nursing Workforce Development programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act) are insufficient to maintain an adequate nursing workforce. The group is advocating for $175 million in funding for nursing education programs which represents a $25 million increase from last year's funding level.

"My message to legislators on behalf of the Tri-Council is simple: Registered nurses are indispensable to the health and safety of our nation, and we need to invest now in order to sustain an adequate nursing workforce," added Dr. Lancaster. "Scientific evidence clearly shows that patient care suffers and mortality rates increase in practice settings without sufficient numbers of registered nurses."

Read Dr. Lancaster's written testimony to the House LHHS Subcommittee.

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for university and four-year-college education programs in nursing. Representing more than 590 member schools of nursing at public and private institutions nationwide, AACN's educational, research, governmental advocacy, data collection, publications, and other programs work to establish quality standards for bachelor's and graduate-degree nursing education, assist deans and directors to implement those standards, influence the nursing profession to improve health care, and promote public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice. Web site:



Robert Rosseter, 202-463-6930, ext. 231