Media Relations

AACN Announces Election Results

Share |

Press Release
For Immediate Release

AACN Announces Election Results for
New Board and Nominating Committee Members

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 4, 2013 – The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce the results of its 2013 election to fill seats on the AACN Board of Directors and Nominating Committee. With votes cast by member deans and directors from the nation’s schools of nursing with baccalaureate and higher degree programs, those joining AACN’s top leadership ranks include Board members Margaret Faut Callahan from Marquette University, Greer Glazer from the University of Cincinnati, Jean Leuner from the University of Central Florida, Marcia Maurer from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and David Vlahov from the University of California-San Francisco. New members of AACN’s Nominating Committee include James A. Fain from University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth and Sharon Wilkerson from Texas A&M Health Science Center.
“On behalf of AACN’s member deans, faculty, and students, I applaud this distinguished group of nursing leaders for their strong commitment to advancing the goals of professional nursing education and research,” said AACN President Jane Kirschling. “As the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, AACN is at the forefront of transforming how nurses are being educated and how patient care is being delivered. We welcome the new and returning members to the Board who will help to steer this important work and provide the leadership needed to take the organization to new heights.”
Those elected to the AACN Board and Nominating Committee will begin their terms of service following the business meeting at AACN’s Spring Annual Meeting on Monday, March 18, 2013. New and re-elected Board members include


Margaret Faut Callahan, PhD, CRNA, FNAP, FAAN, Dean of the College of Nursing at Marquette University, was re-elected to serve as Treasurer of the AACN Board of Directors through 2015. The chair of AACN’s Finance Committee, Dr. Callahan also serves on the Clinical Review Panel for the National Institute of Nursing Research, as a Trustee for the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Foundation, as a Senior On-Site Visitor for the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs/Schools, and on the Advisory Committee of the National Organization for Nurses with Disabilities.


Greer Glazer, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN, Dean of the College of Nursing at the University of Cincinnati, was elected as an AACN Board Member at Large. Dr. Glazer’s distinguished career includes serving for seven years as Dean of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at the University of Massachusetts-Boston, as a Trustee of the Health Collaborative serving the Greater Cincinnati area, as a leader in the Massachusetts Association of Colleges of Nursing, and as a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Executive Fellow. Her dedicated service to AACN includes Chair of the Executive Development Series Program Committee, Member of the Government Affairs Committee, and Mentor with the New Dean Mentoring Program.


Jean Leuner, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN, Dean of the University of Central Florida College of Nursing, was re-elected to serve a second two-year term on the AACN Board. Currently Chair of AACN’s Program Committee, Dr. Leuner has been very active in the association serving as Chair of the Faculty Development Working Group, a Florida State Grassroots Liaison, and as a mentor to new deans.  Her leadership roles outside the organization extend to serving as a Member of the Franklin Pierce University Board of Trustees, former Chair of the Florida Association of Schools of Nursing, and Chapter President for Sigma Theta Tau International.

Marcia Maurer, PhD, RN, Dean of the School of Nursing at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, was elected to serve a two-year term as AACN Board Member at Large. Dr. Maurer is one of Illinois’ most visible nurse advocates through her service as a governor appointee on the Illinois Center for Nursing Advisory Board, on the Board of Trustees for the Southern Illinois Healthcare System, on the Illinois State Genetics Planning Services Committee, and on the Governing Board for the Washington University Institute for Clinical & Translational Sciences. For AACN, she has served on the Government Affairs Committee and on several Conference Planning Committees over the past six years.

David Vlahov, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean of the University of California-San Francisco (UCSF) School of Nursing, was also elected to serve a  two-year term on the AACN Board. Prior to coming to UCSF in 2011, Dr. Vlahov held appointments in Schools of Nursing, Medicine, and Public Health, including Senior Vice President for Research at the New York Academy of Medicine; Professor of Clinical Epidemiology at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, and Professor of Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. At AACN, he has served on the AACN-DVA Liaison Committee and the Doctoral Conference Planning Committee.

The two newly elected members to AACN’s Nominating Committee, both selected to serve two-year terms, include:

James A. Fain, PhD, RN, BC-ADM, FAAN, is the Dean of the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth College of Nursing, who previously held teaching and leadership roles at the University of Massachusetts-Worcester and Yale University. Outside the university setting, Dr. Fain currently serves as an ex-officio Member of the Board of Directors for the American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE) as well as Editor-in-Chief of the AADE’s official journal, The Diabetes Educator. His service to AACN includes membership on the Government Affairs Committee.

Sharon Wilkerson, PhD, RN, CNE, is the Founding Dean of the College of Nursing at Texas A&M Health Science Center, who previous held teaching appointments at Purdue University, Indiana University-Purdue University, Wayne State University, and the University of Pennsylvania. Active in Sigma Theta Tau International and the Southern Nursing Research Society, Dr. Wilkerson was selected as a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Nurse Scholar early in her career.  For AACN, she has served as Chair of the Baccalaureate Conference Planning Committee.



EDITORS NOTE: Photos of all new AACN Board members are available upon request. Please contact

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing is the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate programs in nursing. Representing more than 700 member schools of nursing at public and private institutions nationwide, AACN’s educational, research, governmental advocacy, data collection, publications and other programs work to establish quality standards for bachelor’s and graduate degree nursing education, assist deans and directors to implement those standards, influence the nursing profession to improve health care, and promote public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice. For more information, visit



Robert Rosseter, 202-463-6930, ext. 231