About AACN

APRN Clinical Training Task Force

Share |

The AACN Board of Directors charges the task force with the development of a white paper that re-envisions clinical training for advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs). Growing evidence exists regarding the limited resources, including sufficient and diverse clinical sites, patients, and preceptors available to prepare APRNs for contemporary practice. New regulatory requirements and changes in healthcare environments present increasing challenges for practitioners who serve as preceptors and for schools of nursing preparing the next generation of providers. These requirements and changes mandate exploring new opportunities, models, and resources for APRN clinical training as well as the emerging focus on competency assessment mechanisms. The development of new and renewed relationships with practice partners also is critical to future clinical training of APRN students. Actions must be taken to minimize the strain on clinical sites and schools of nursing, decrease barriers to quality clinical training resources, and allow schools to meet enrollment goals to
address the country’s increasing healthcare needs.

To meet the charge the task force should:

1.  Describe the current state of APRN clinical training, challenges, and regulatory requirements.

2.  Describe the nature of the collaborative relationship that should be established with clinical training sites to facilitate the development of quality opportunities for students, including clinical training expectations for the school of nursing, patient care site, and preceptor.

3.  Develop a set of recommendations for restructured or re-envisioned clinical training, including alternative models for APRN clinical training that:

  • maximize clinical resources;
  • consider current and potential financial implications;
  • provide opportunities to prepare APRNs with the full graduate, role and population-focused competencies; and
  • highlight opportunities and innovations for interprofessional learning and practice.

4.  Consider competency assessment as an emerging and potential element of a re-envisioned approach to APRN clinical training.

Please address your comments to either the chair or AACN staff liaison noted.

Laurie M. Lauzon Clabo, PhD, Chair
Dean, MGH Institute of Health Professions
School of Nursing, B36 – 256
36 First Ave
Boston, MA
(617) 643-0605

llauzonclabo@mghihp.edu

Roy Addington, DNP
Faculty representative
University of New Mexico
College of Nursing
MSC09 5350
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM
(505) 272-5924
raddington@salud.unm.edu

Barbara J. Berner, EdD
Director, University of Alaska
School of Nursing, HSB 374
Anchorage, AL
(907) 786-4571
bjberner@uaa.alaska.edu

Patricia Clinton, PhD
Faculty representative
University of Iowa
College of Nursing, 344 CNB
50 Newton Road
Iowa City, IA
(319) 335-7055

patricia-clinton@uiowa.edu

Chris Esperat, PhD
Faculty representative
Texas Tech University
School of Nursing
3601 4th Street
Lubbock, TX
(806) 743-3052

Christina.Esperat@ttuhsc.edu

Sharon J. Hawks, DNP
Faculty representative
Duke University
School of Nursing
3037 Pearson Building
Durham, NC
(919) 684-9347

sharon.hawks@duke.edu



Robin Lawson, DNP
Faculty representative

The University of Alabama
Capstone College of Nursing
Box 870358
650 University Boulevard
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0358
(205) 348-1044

robin.m.lawson@ua.edu

Susan E. Stone, DNSc
President/Dean, Frontier Nursing University
195 School Street
Hyden, KY
(606) 672-2312

sstone@frontier.edu

Patti R. Zuzelo, EdD
Faculty representative
Drexel University, College of Nursing and Health Professions
245 N. 15th Street
Philadelphia, PA
Patti.R.Zuzelo@drexel.edu

Joan Stanley, PhD, AACN Staff Liaison
Staff Liaison, Senior Director of Education Policy
202-463-6930, ext. 254
jstanley@aacn.nche.edu

Karen S. Kesten, DNP, AACN Staff Liaison
Director of Educational Innovations
202-463-6930, ext. 274
kkesten@aacn.nche.edu

Shyloe Jones, AACN Staff Liaison
Education Policy Assistant

202-463-6930, ext. 250

sjones@aacn.nche.edu